Monasticon belge

At the end of the 19th century, Dom Ursmer Berlière of the Abbey of Maredsous launched the Monasticon belge with the intention of completing and updating the older series, the Gallia christiana (1625-1865).

The first of the 23 volumes was published in 1890, the last in 1993. The Monasticon covers, by Belgian province, the history of all the major institutions, both male and female, belonging to the Benedictines, Cistercians, Premonstratensians and Augustinian Canons Regular.

The Royal Historical Commission is making the entire series available digitally. This initiative is carried out in collaboration with the National Research Center for Religious History, which has overseen the publication of the Monasticon since 1955.

The Royal Historical Commission respects the intellectual rights of third parties. Therefore, it has made every effort to trace the copyright holders of the materials published on its site. Anyone who believes that works have been made public without authorization, is asked to get in touch.

Province of Namur and Hainaut

Part 1/2Part 2/2

Province of Liège

Part 1&2/3Part 3/3

Province of West Flanders

Part 1/4Part 2/4Part 3/4Part 4/4

Province of Luxembourg

Part 1/1

Province of Limburg

Part 1/1

Province of East Flanders

Part 1/5Part 2/5Part 3/5Part 4/5Part 5/5

Province of Antwerp

Part 1/2Part 2/2